Which are the awards given to Kho Kho players?


For their passion for the game and great performance throughout their careers, Kho Kho players earn a variety of awards. The following are a few of these awards:

Janaki Award: 

The Kho Kho Awards are given to female players under the age of eighteen. For their amazing performance in the game, they received the Janaki prize.

Veer Abhimanyu award: 

The Veer Abhimanyu award is given to Kho Kho boys under the age of 18 for their outstanding achievement in this ancient game.

Arjuna Award: 

The Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports (Government of India) recognises and honours players who excel in Kho Kho national sports with the Arjuna Award. The prize also includes a scroll and a bronze statue of Arjuna worth Rs500,000.

The award’s scope has grown over time, and the list currently includes a considerable number of athletes who were born before the Arjuna Award. Furthermore, the list of disciplines for which the prize is presented has been expanded to include indigenous matches as well as a category for physically disabled people.

Eklavya Award for men:

The Karnataka government recognised the Eklavya Award for the Kho Kho game. The medal is given by the Karnataka government to the person who performed with zeal and heart. In the year 2008, Adarsha C P earned the Eklavya award for his dedication to the game Kho Kho.

Rani Laxmi Bai award for women:

The Rani Laxmi Bai award for women includes a prize of $100,000 for outstanding achievement by women in the Kho Kho game.

Rani Lakshmi Bai Award is named after Rani Lakshmi Bai, the Queen of Jhansi who resisted the British Raj valiantly.

Dronacharya Award: 

This award is given to coaches who excel at teaching players game strategy. A cash reward of Rs 7,00,000, a scroll of honour, and a bronze statue of Dronacharya are all part of the Dronacharya Kho Kho game award. In the year 2000, Gopal Purushottam Phadke was honoured for his outstanding service.

Shiv Chhatrapati Kho Kho Awards: 

The Shiv Chhatrapati award consists of a trophy and a monetary prize of Rs. 25000, as well as a blazer and a citation. This prize is given by Maharashtra’s state government.